Berlin in 7 Hours

  

My friend came to visit me in Prague, and we decided that since she’s here, why not go to Germany?

Luckily, we were able to buy tickets for the next day. We left the bus station at 7am, and arrived in Berlin at 11:30. The return bus was at 7pm.

We started by getting coffee. Then bought a day ticket for bus/tram/metro.

Technically, we should have just bought 2 tickets, but we didn’t know our plan for the day, and we hadn’t really figured out where we were going or how to get there. Our first stop was Hard Rock Cafe, where she wanted to buy/trade pins and get herself a glass. Of course we got off the bus too early, and walked for like 45 minutes trying to find the place, but we did. While she found what she was looking for there, I went next door and found a map to use for now, and a map for my wall.

After that, we started walking towards a metro, but ran into a tour bus guy who convinced us to just do that. We agreed because it would go to all the places we wanted and we wouldn’t have to guess where we were or how to get to the next place.

 Checkpoint Charlie was one of the places we got off the bus to take pictures. Then we decided we needed lunch. Of course I had to order a German beer. Lunch was potato and sausage soup (the sausage was more like hot dogs) with bread (and it was sooo delicious!), then we split a chicken wrap, which was ok. I could have eaten the soup all day except for the “sausages”. The beer was good, too.
  
After lunch we visited a gift shop then continued on to Brandenburg Gate.

   

  I must say, it’s so neat being in all these historic places that I learned about so long ago. Plus I’ve wanted to go to Berlin since I was 12. …It’s only been 26 years since then! 

Anyway. We stopped by one more souvenir shop before jumping back on the bus, and I got a small jar of Berlin Wall and a postcard of what Brandenburg Gate looked like when the Wall was there. Now it’s nestled on my souvenir shelf between my Dresden patch and my Barcelona Bull, and next to my Žižkov beer festival mug and my Kraków Dragon.

  

Oh, so we hopped back on the bus and got off at the zoo, then navigated our way through the metro and back to the bus station. We arrived early and got good seats. I kind of wish we had gotten snacks for the 5 hour bus ride… Maybe next time! 

This entry was posted in Day Trips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment